11 Physics

my teacher gave me this question for review and i don't know how to do it!! HELP!!!


A ball is thrown upwards, from a building. It's height(h), in meters above the ground seconds(t) after being thrown is given by h(t)=-5t^2+15t+50

a) How tall is the building? (explain your answer)

b) How long does it take the ball to reach the ground?

c) For how long is the ball 55m above the ground?

  1. 👍 0
  2. 👎 0
  3. 👁 170
asked by Sam
  1. surely you have similar question that you can study.

    You know that the initial height is the constant term. So, the building is 50m tall

    The ball hits the ground when the height is zero. So, just solve for t when h=0

    I assume you want to know how long the ball is at least 55m above the ground. It is only at 50m for an instant. So, we want

    -5t^2+15t+50 >= 55
    1/2 (3-√5) <= t <= 1/2 (3+√5)

    http://www.wolframalpha.com/input/?i=+-5t^2%2B15t%2B50+%3E%3D+55

    1. 👍 0
    2. 👎 0
    posted by Steve

Respond to this Question

First Name

Your Response

Similar Questions

  1. math

    my teacher gave me exam review booklets and there is something i don't understand.. the question is : Find the slope of a line that passes through the points (-9,-3) and (-7,-1). if someone can please explain to me how to solve

    asked by HELP exam review ! on January 27, 2011
  2. AVID

    this is about cornell note taking...i'm done taking notes but i'm having trouble with the summary and the question area...i don't know what to ask ....for the question part...so can u help? The question area...put in a question

    asked by Tally on September 7, 2006
  3. book report

    My teacher gave me a book review paper. What does it mean when it says "write an ending sentence for your review"

    asked by Celest on December 16, 2012
  4. year 8 re-Re teachers

    i posted this question before but can`t see it on the page.sorry if it is there. please could someone help me i need to write an essay for re . i don`t really understand what to do. if someone could explain the question id be very

    asked by Kerrie on March 16, 2009
  5. Not a subject for course-off topic question

    Hello, I don't know where else to post the question but since this website has many teachers helping students and probably the appropriate place to ask. ----------------------------------------- So today I was just thinking about

    asked by John Doe on February 1, 2015
  6. Civics

    What limits the amount of legal immigrants to our country? a. Tariffs b. Census c. Quotas d. Passports I couldn't find this question on any sources online. My teacher originally gave us this question on the review packet with no

    asked by Dave on July 18, 2016
  7. Social Studies

    Please review the question and my answer. Thank you tutors. Q: What did AGENTS do for the sugar plantations? My answer: Agents took over the sugar plantations. If there is more than that for the answer that I gave, then please

    asked by anon on December 12, 2015
  8. 4th grade

    my teacher gave me this question I don't get it. If a normal person blinks 25 times per minute how old would you be your next birthday?

    asked by Anonymous on December 6, 2010
  9. Maths

    Solve |a|-3/4=-5/8 a. 1/8 or -1/8 b. 7/8 or -7/8 c. 1 3/8 or -1 3/8 d. No solution could someone walk me through perhaps? I missed a ton of class and there's nothing about this stuff in the review notes my teacher gave me.

    asked by Fae on October 9, 2015
  10. Algebra 1 lvl 1

    Hi, I have a test tomorrow and our teacher gave us a huge review worksheet. I am still not sure how to do some of these so I would appreciate if you could do the following problems out in all steps. I tried to pick some from each

    asked by Steve on May 20, 2009

More Similar Questions