1. science

    what is the importance of fuses? They are placed in electrical equipment and in houses (although most houses now use circuit breakers) as safety devices. If a short occurs and too much electrical current is going through the circuit, the fuse "blows"

    asked by garret on April 23, 2007
  2. Math

    1. One of the formulas for finding the partial sum of an arithmetic sequence is Sn = n(a1 + an) True 2. The value of a probability must be in the interval [0, 1]? True

    asked by mysterychicken on June 7, 2013
  3. Music

    Do orchestral musician learn each work just before it is performed and have only a little amount of time to practice? I believe that this is not true. Is this right? Not true.

    asked by Christina on November 7, 2006
  4. Chemistry

    Question: The solubility of a salt in water increases if either ion of the salt undergoes hydrolysis. Comput the molar solubility of AgCN in water assuming no hydrolysis. B) compute the molar solubility of AnCN in water assuming hydrolysis occurs. The

    asked by eliz on May 6, 2009
  5. Engineering Economy

    A realtor sold a house on August 31, 1997 for $150k to a buyer in which a 20% down payment was made. The buyer took a 15yr mortgage on the property with an effective interest rate of 8% per annum. The buyer intends to pay off the mortgage owed in yearly

    asked by John on September 24, 2007
  6. CRT - agument follow up

    Thank you for all your help tonight Ms. Sue - I have a few more questions before I'm done! From the argument I cited - would this be a good explanation of valid/invalid, strong or weak, sound or unsound The author’s argument is invalid, because the

    asked by Addie on September 5, 2009
  7. fractions

    fraction word problem. please advise on how to work the problem Phillip and Jane had a pie each. Phippip ate 1/4 of his and Jane ate more of the pie than Phillip. Which fraction of his pie could Jane have eaten. Possible answers: 2/5 1/6 2/8 or 1/8 Please

    asked by Suzanne on June 10, 2011
  8. math

    "solve each problem and write your answers in scientific notation." 1. (6.0•10^5) •(3.0•10^4) 2.(5•10^-2)/(2•10^3) 3.(2.56•10^6)•(3.56•10^2) 4. "In a recent year , the population was about 2.52•10^7 people. Its land area is about

    asked by carley on October 14, 2016
  9. Math for Educators

    24five x 3five ------ 132five 27eight 65eight +43eight ------- 157eight 75eight -37eight ------- 36eight 1213five/3five??? -If someone could please confirm my answers for the others as well as help me with the last division problem thank you! these are all

    asked by Kelly on June 17, 2013
  10. Health Science

    Please help me. (2) Discus the following diseases under the following - heading) i. Causative agent ii. Method of transmision iii. Signs and symptoms iv. Control and prevent. 1-Gonorrhae 2- HIV and AIDS 3- syphiles.

    asked by somay on June 12, 2016
  11. College Summit

    I need to know the Job responsibilities, working conditions, earnings, desirable skills, and opportunites for advacement. For a Real Esate Agent, Auto detailer, and Graphic Designer

    asked by Bryan on September 18, 2007
  12. Chemistry

    Use principles of atomic structure to Explain why in aqueous solution, (a) potassium forms 1+ but not a 2+ ion (a) Ti3+ is colored but Sc3+ is not. (b) Ti2+ is a reducing agent but Ca2+ is not.

    asked by Lily on October 20, 2012
  13. english

    preview the following titles of novels,which one would you expect to be aboutthe adventures of a sled dog? A.the call of the wild B.sons and lovers C.a passage to india d.the secret agent

    asked by Anonymous on February 15, 2013
  14. psychology

    which of the following scenarios accuratelly depicts a memory strategy? a. highlighting all of the information covered in the text b. silently repeating or mentally reviewing learned information c. studing the minimum that's to be covered on a test

    asked by ourania on December 7, 2008
  15. Materials Science

    In this problem, you will construct the 2D Mohr's circle for two plane stress states defined in terms of the Cartesian components of the stress tensor in the x,y reference frame: [ σx,σy,τxy]. For each of these stress states, you must construct and use

    asked by qwerty on October 10, 2014
  16. Math

    I have two more questions :)) If 1/3 is equivalent to 33 1/3%, what percent is equivalent to 2/3? A: 33 2/3% B: 150% C: 66 2/3%**** D: 65% Which proportion can be used to solve the following percent problem? What is 50% of 70? I came up with x/50 = 70/100

    asked by Cami on November 23, 2015
  17. Ethics

    describe the role civil disobedience played in the civil rights movement It was central. http://www.answers.com/civil%20disobedience

    asked by Anonymous on January 19, 2007
  18. math

    beads for sale: 12 cents for 15. Write an equation relating the cost (c) and the number of beads (n0 for the beads. Katie or Halida or whoever, Please note that we don't do students' homework for them. Our tutors try to give you the information to help you

    asked by KATIE THE NEEDS HELP!! on May 3, 2007
  19. Biology

    Assignment Type: Individual Project Deliverable Length: Completed Punnett Square and Answers to all Questi Points Possible: 125 Due Date: 4/12/2009 11:59:59 PM CT Part 1: Genetics: From Genes to Proteins Convert the following DNA sequence into its RNA

    asked by Sherri on April 13, 2009
  20. Math help Ms,Sue Please!!!

    Note: Your teacher will grade your responses to questions 18 and 19 to ensure that you receive proper credit for your answers. 18. You are surveying students to find out their opinion of the quality of food served in the school cafeteria. You decide to

    asked by on May 24, 2017
  21. English

    1. What do you do? - I am a student. 2. What does your father do? - He is an architect. 3. What does your mother do? - She is an accountant. 4. What do you want to be in the future? - I want to be a pharmacist. 5. Why do you want to be a pharmacist? - I

    asked by rfvv on October 23, 2012
  22. physics

    An object of mass m is hanging by a string from the roof of an elevator. We want to compare the tension in the string due to the weight of the object under various conditions. Which statements are true? Choices: True, False. A. If the elevator is moving

    asked by Sandhya on December 10, 2008
  23. i really need help and i dont ask alot so plzz

    I NEED HELP WITH THIS its a TEST: 1. Which of Earth’s spheres contains most of its mass? (1 point) atmosphere hydrosphere geosphere biosphere 2. Erosion and weathering are examples of which types of forces? (1 point) constructive forces destructive

    asked by the girl that has no friends on February 5, 2016
  24. college chem

    Two questions where I have to write a balanced net ionic equation. 1. Write a balanced net ionic equation for the reaction that occurs when aqueous solutions of sodium chromate and silver nitrate are mixed 2. Write a balanced net ionic equaion reaction for

    asked by kelly on June 2, 2009
  25. Math

    1. Write the place name for the 4 in the following number: 3,624,786 Answer: Thousand 2. Round the following number to the nearest ten: 53 Answer: 5 3. Find the sum of the following problem: 2,168 + 305 Answer: 2473 4. Estimate the sum of the following

    asked by Silika on July 1, 2012
  26. science(check answers)

    1.D 2.A 3.A 4.im not sure please help 5.false One light bulb in a string of lights goes out. This causes all of the other lights in the string to also go out. This is an example of a A. resistor. B. parallel circuit. C. closed circuit. D. series circuit.

    asked by matt on March 31, 2014
  27. Filtration

    Problem: In each of the following situations, what type of filtration device would you use? A. Remove powdered decolorizing charcoal from 20mL of solution? My answer: Filter Aid or Celite (diatomaceous earth) B. Collect crystals obtained from crystallizing

    asked by Sheryl on September 30, 2006
  28. math

    Can someone please help me with the following problems Determine if the triple numbers are can be sides of a right triangle? sqrt(10)sqrt(13)sqrt(23) The length of thy hypotenuse of a right triangle equals the length of one of legs of the triangle A)

    asked by Nicole on May 22, 2010
  29. physics please

    there are nearly (pi) x (10^7) seconds in one year. find the percentage error in this approximation, where percentage error is defined as abs value[ (assumed value - true value)/ true value] x 100% to find the true value I did: (365 days/yr) x (24 hours/1

    asked by sam on January 22, 2010
  30. Math

    Can you please check my answers for these questions? I'm having a little trouble with my signs, because I sometimes substitute in wrong, so I get these wrong because of that, Thank you! For the following problems, use f(x) = x^2+ 3; g(x) = –3x; h(x) = 8x

    asked by Rafe on December 8, 2017
  31. civics

    the senate power of advice and consent does not apply to the federal judges true or fales . and what's the right answer. is it true

    asked by roc on August 10, 2009
  32. stats

    suppose a normal distribution has a true population mean of 18 and a true standard deviation of 2. what % of observations will be 18 or less, 18 or greater and in the range from 16 to 20?

    asked by dometrice on June 19, 2013
  33. English

    What is the definition of the word participation? to think that something is true without knowing that it is true not important or relating to what is being discussed right now a part of something involvement with others in doing something C?

    asked by Bri on November 17, 2017
  34. chemistry

    What is the oxidizing agent in the following reaction? Cl2 (g) + 2Na+ (aq) + 2Br- (aq) --> 2Na+ (aq) + 2Cl- (aq) + Br2 (l)

    asked by mary on November 8, 2011
  35. science

    type of cells stimulates other immune cells to attack and destroy foreign agent

    asked by cate mburu on July 6, 2016
  36. Chemistry. Please help!

    Fe3+ + I1- ¨ Fe2+ + I2 1. Balance the equation 2. Which element is being oxidized? 3. Which element is the reducing agent?

    asked by Ellie on February 20, 2013
  37. Chemistry

    Why would potassium no longer appear in the equation of a net ionic equation with KIO3 being the oxidizing agent?

    asked by Teel on April 20, 2010
  38. sociology

    Explain the concept of socialization and highlight one agent of socialization that can be impactful on your life, stating how and why.

    asked by elizabeth on April 26, 2012
  39. Math

    Determine whether, for any set A, it is true that P(A) = P(U) − P(A). If it is true prove it, if it is not, give a counterexample.

    asked by Anonymous on April 22, 2015
  40. Math

    Under what circumstances is fog = gof always true? When is this statement true for f(x) = x2 + x – 2 and g(x) = x + 4? (4 marks)

    asked by Anonymous on January 20, 2013
  41. math

    2(3x−6)>=5(0)−10 Select all the values of x that will make the following inequality true. x = -5 x = 1 x = 0 x = 2 x = 13 x = 7 I keep getting this wrong what are the true ones

    asked by plshelp on September 20, 2016
  42. chem

    Hey could you please help me. Why would K2CO3 be a better drying agent than Na2SO4 when drying out water from clohexanol?

    asked by Bob on April 15, 2012
  43. Math

    A commission agent receives 5.4% for her sales she received $ 6.48 for one of sale how much is the sale amount?

    asked by Teji on February 23, 2016
  44. english

    how to convert common noun in to abstract noun eg. agent, glutton,pilgrim. please help.

    asked by chetna on June 27, 2013
  45. Science

    People are more close to each other. Why do contagious diseases spread more readily in denser populations? Thank you for using the Jiskha Homework Help Forum, BUT, what have YOU done on all these questions? Put on your thinking cap and come up with some

    asked by Mack on March 18, 2007
  46. Math

    Can someone check my answers for a couple questions in my test I can't get help because my dad isnt here and my mom can't do math. 3.Write the ratio as a percent In the seventh Grade class, 19/25 students voted in favor of having a class picnic. A.76% --

    asked by COW on January 11, 2018
  47. Just a message(please read)

    First of all I would like to thank everyone for helping me. The reason that I post my questions like I do is b/c they are multiple choice and all I'm looking for is to know if my answer is correct or not. If its not right then I would go back and try to

    asked by Jon on February 13, 2008
  48. geography yr 7

    i know this question has been asked many times but i can`t find the answers to my questions for my report on broughton chester. i have looked on the sites ms sue kindly found for the other people. the question i`m having trouble answering is how does

    asked by keltie on May 20, 2008
  49. precalculus

    can you check my answers? Find Pk + 1 if Pk = 7 + 13 + 19 + ...+[6(k - 1)+1] + (6k + 1) 7 + 13 + 19 + …+[6(k - 1) + 1] + (6k + 1) + [6(k + 1) + 1] 8 + 14 + 20 + …+[7(k - 1) + 1] + (7k + 1) 7 + 13 + 19 + …+(6k + 1) 7 + 13 + 19 + ...+[6(k - 1) + 1] +

    asked by Anonymous on December 14, 2016
  50. can you check my answers precalculus

    can you check my answers? Find Pk + 1 if Pk = 7 + 13 + 19 + ...+[6(k - 1)+1] + (6k + 1) 7 + 13 + 19 + …+[6(k - 1) + 1] + (6k + 1) + [6(k + 1) + 1] 8 + 14 + 20 + …+[7(k - 1) + 1] + (7k + 1) 7 + 13 + 19 + …+(6k + 1) 7 + 13 + 19 + ...+[6(k - 1) + 1] +

    asked by Anonymous on December 14, 2016
  51. biology

    1. Which statement is TRUE? a. A cell placed in an isotomic solution will swell. b. A cell placed in a hypotonic solution will swell. c. A cell placed in a hypotonic solution will shrink. d. A cell placed in a hypertonic soluction will remain the same

    asked by akim on June 25, 2011
  52. Math

    8*2sq+7*(4+1)= ? Can someone explain to me what to after the parenthesis? I mean in the PEMDAS of operations says that I should multiply. Multiply what and when? By the way the actual problem is a example I got out of my book. Right at this momen there is

    asked by Rindi on August 11, 2007
  53. Pre Cal

    2cos 4theta + 1 = 0 i know how to find the degrees (the last step of the problem), but i don't know how to start the problem. Could someone please show me the steps? I assume you mean cos (4 theta) and not (cos theta)^4 cos (4 theta) = -1/2 The angles with

    asked by Marie on March 7, 2007
  54. English

    Take the subject you explored in Part 1 of Submission 2 and narrow it down so that it can be covered in one paragraph. You might use one of the two techniques below. 1. Use one incident from the Answers column of your chart to illustrate an idea. Example:

    asked by Sam on April 23, 2013
  55. chemistry

    Fe2+ + MnO4- + Fe3+ + Mn2+ which of the elements is undergoing oxidation and which of the elements is the oxidizing agent?

    asked by TROUBLED on October 24, 2011
  56. Math

    The first social studies test had 16 questions. The second test had 220% as many questions as the first test. Find the number of questions on the second test.

    asked by Betsy on February 19, 2013
  57. philosophy

    For each of the following scenarios answer the questions and explain whether your answers fit with traditional or modern ethical thinking. After you have finished responding to the scenarios, discuss whether you generally make ethical decisions using a

    asked by Anonymous on January 17, 2010
  58. Physics

    An object turns without changing its speed. Which of the following is true? a) No net force was necessarily acting on the object b) A new force must have been acting on the object. c) Both of the answers above are possible I'm thinking that the answer is

    asked by Alex Baker on October 30, 2012
  59. math

    A certain disease has an incidence rate of 0.8%. If the false negative rate is 7% and the false positive rate is 3%, compute the probability that a person who tests positive actually has the disease. Show all work.

    asked by un on April 29, 2017
  60. 9th grade algebra

    drwls here is another one of those questions like the last one we submitted if this will help with what they are after. 200 dollars/1 ton x 100 cents/1 dollar x 1 ton/2000 pounds x 1 pound/16 ounces could you please show me how you come up with the answer?

    asked by Dippy on April 9, 2009
  61. Pharmacology

    Which of the following statement is false? a. Insulin syringes are only for measuring insulin dosage for administration b. Patient is to take 1.0 ml lorazepam elixir at bedtime, it is appropriate to administer the medication using 0.5 ml oral syringe by

    asked by Sam on May 20, 2016
  62. Physics

    Indicate true or false in each of the following statements: 1. a tube open at one end resonates with only odd harmonics 2. The frequency of a sound emitted by a vehicle as it moves toward you rises as you listen 3. a tube open at both ends resonates with

    asked by Katie on May 8, 2008
  63. english answer check please, 4 questions

    1. To plan your time for a research project, it is best to (1 point) divide the time spent on each step evenly. keep your deadlines flexible. start at the beginning and plan from there.***** work backward. 2. Which of the following is not a guideline for

    asked by Anonymous on March 15, 2017
  64. Geometry

    find 1 counter example to show the each conjecture is false. that means prove the follwing statment false. The product of 2 positive numbers is greater than either number. ok so I know product means to multiply but if you multiply you get a bigger number .

    asked by tori on August 22, 2007
  65. hinduism

    I have to answer these questions in a few sentences, but I can't figure the first one out. Different websites tell me different stuff.. 1. How was the world created? 2. Description of God There is no single deity, instead there are thousands of gods.

    asked by y912f on October 27, 2010
  66. PHI 208

    Explain why you think these questions would be the type to reveal the computer to be a computer? Why would these responses have to be given by a human being? (If you don't think there are such questions, explain how the three questions you chose would fail

    asked by lisa on June 26, 2013
  67. literature

    WHAT IS A WONDER QUESTION? my english teacher assigned me a summer assignment and one of the question says: 2. Writing raises questions. Write a wonder question the book raises for you. Wonder questions ask about the significance of something you observe;

    asked by josh on August 28, 2008
  68. Chemistry

    How do you convert energy into to joules (can you please give me an example with showing me your i.e how you did it, in full detail) How do you find specific heat numbers? Your questions beg for amplification. Please expand. Energy is measured in joules

    asked by Buddy oh Pal on September 24, 2006
  69. conjectures

    Evaluate the following sums: 1 1+8 1+8+27 1+8+27+64 Add two more line to the list, and make a conjecture about the sums you obtained. this is a pattern. if you look closely than you'll see each number is a product of another number cubed.

    asked by Shay on February 25, 2007
  70. Chemistry

    A .682 g sample of an unknown weak monoprotic acid, HA, was dissolved in sufficient water to make 50mL of solution and was titrated with a .135 M NaOH solution. After the addition of 10.6mL of base, a pH of 5.65 was recorded. The equivalence point was

    asked by Sara on May 10, 2007
  71. AP Environmental Science

    I have a word problem about exponential growth. The problem is... "At 6am a few bacteria fall into a can of syrup in a broken garbage bag. The conditions of warmth, moisture, and food are perfect for growth and the population doubles every 20 minutes. By

    asked by Amy on November 9, 2008
  72. Math And Science for Young Children

    The conventional problem-solving strategies usually taught have been: A. act out the problem, make a drawing or diagram, and solve the problem. B. look for a pattern, construct a table, solve the problem, and look back. C. understand the problem, devise a

    asked by Tonya on January 9, 2016
  73. prealgbra

    solve by simulating the problem.you have a 5 -question multiple -choice test. each question has four chices. you don't know any of the answers. what is the experimental probility that you will guess exactly three out of five question correctly?

    asked by sandr on June 28, 2012
  74. Algebra Question

    I did a problem and used the substitution method and it took me forever to solve by hand. Is there a shorter way to show how this problem was done. The problem was x+y+z=7,x-y+2z=7,2x+y+3z=15 The final answer came out to be x=4 z=2 y=1

    asked by mike on December 18, 2009
  75. algebra

    i have a homework problem that i don't know how to do it the question to the problem says: Find the value of expression.identify the property used in each step and the problem is:7(10-1x3)

    asked by alejandra on October 14, 2010
  76. ENG 122

    When using the BEAM style of evaluation, which of the following is UNLIKELY to occur? (Points : 1) Writers will probably meet all research needs. Writers will need multiple examples of all four kinds of sources. Any single source will probably feature more

    asked by sabrina on March 13, 2014
  77. human resources

    As the company bookkeeper reviewing delinquent accounts receivable, you find that a relative of yours has not paid his account amounts of $550. You know that he has been experiencing financial difficulties, and so you set his account aside and do not

    asked by China on January 24, 2009
  78. business

    technology manager sharry jones is reviewing a new EMR software program for the hospital where she works, and judges it to be user-friendly than others she has tested. in other words, sharry likes this one's: a. processor b. speed and power c. interface d.

    asked by shay on February 16, 2010
  79. mathematics

    a math consist of 20 multiple choice questions 3 points are awarded for a wrong answer. no points and awarded or deducted for an answered questions. jenny attempted a total of 19 questions and her total score is above 32. find the minimum number of correct

    asked by Anonymous on September 27, 2016
  80. algebra 1

    Can someone please help me with this inequality problem -3-8>(4x+8)-8 I have no idea how to solve this problem but I would like to learn. Can you be kind to show me the steps so that I can use this as an example problem for other problems. Thanks!

    asked by thawk on November 17, 2010
  81. Math

    I am very sorry but I was wrong with the problem. The math problem is: 9 / (3.6-2.1) Thank you Anonymus for your answer but I want the problem that I wrote above. If you help me again pleaseeeeeeeee. I don't know how to resolve this. Thanks again.

    asked by Veronica on August 25, 2011
  82. Philosophy

    Is this argument valid or invalid? If invalid, describe a possible situation where all of its premises are true and its conclusion is false. Lori is unhappy with some people who did not write thank you notes. Lori will send presents next year to everyone

    asked by Cathy on January 25, 2010
  83. Maths

    Multiple-choice questions in a test are graded by adding 2 marks for each correct response and subtracting 1 mark for each incorrect response (including no response). Rory and Jenny answered all the multiple-choice questions, with Rory scoring 27 and Jenny

    asked by Jannie on November 17, 2010
  84. environmental science

    • Post a 200- to 300-word response to the following: o Discuss an environmental problem that you feel is significant in your town or city. o What are some causes? o Are any of these causes related to human values and environmental ethics? o Explain your

    asked by Anonymous on May 8, 2010
  85. calculus 1

    Use Newton's method to find all solutions of the equation correct to six decimal places. (Enter your answers as a comma-separated list.) 6 cos(x) = x + 1 can somebody explain to me step by step on how to solve this problem?

    asked by john on November 7, 2017
  86. math

    When Nikita sold her old two wheeler vehicle she got Rs 17150 after paying her agent 2% commission. What is the selling price of the vehicle.

    asked by aditi on January 23, 2015
  87. sciecne

    Which agent probably contributes most to the genral wearing down of Earth's surface? explain i know the answer is "running water" but how to explain it?

    asked by Anonymous on March 17, 2009
  88. chemistry

    why is fe 2+ a better reducing agent then mn2+. ( I thought since mn2+ had a higher Eox it would be better)

    asked by chemstudent on April 13, 2010
  89. Algebra

    My second question is in section 5.4, problem 39. x+4/x-2 < or = 1; Since the inequality in not , should the answer to this problem in the back of the book be: {x|x< or = 2}, or in interval notation: (-infinity, 2)? Please explain this problem. Thanks.

    asked by Mike P on January 11, 2013
  90. Calculus

    I have a couple of questions and i wanted to know if my answers are correct. Thanks in advanced! 1. Determine the values of x for which the function f(x)=x+2/x-2 is discontinuous Would the answers be x=2 because the function would be undefined? 2. An oil

    asked by Sarah on April 9, 2014
  91. English

    I left out two important things. Hopefully, you can have a look at them. First, the sentence you asked me to vary; 1) The following items will be assessed: the pupils’ attitude towards the European Union, their disposition to mobility and their knowledge

    asked by Henry2 on February 9, 2012
  92. algebra

    could someone check my answers to these few questions? "What is the equation of the line, in slope-intercept form, that goes through the point (-1, -8) with m = 3 ?" here's my work: y + 8 = -3(x + 1) [i put the values into the equation.] y = -3x + 5 [i

    asked by caduceus on November 8, 2013
  93. language arts Ms. Sue please

    4. "Brer" is dialect for briar. brother. Mister. brawny. 5. What is the main reason to ask questions as you read a story? to describe the characters to summarize the plot to identify the author’s purpose to aid in your comprehension My answers: 4.

    asked by Delilah on March 18, 2013
  94. Algebra, Trig

    The full question: A point on a wheel has an equation y = 10 sin (x - 45°) + 20 that models the height as the wheel rotates. Answer the following questions. 1) What is the height if the wheel has rotated 135°? 2) What are the possible values of rotation

    asked by Helena on October 18, 2017
  95. Math

    If I went to the bank and fianaced $81,000 at 9% for 25 years what would my monthly principal and interest payment be?

    asked by Andrea on July 17, 2013
  96. analytic geometry

    fin the center ,principal axis vertices, sketch the graph of 4x^-y^2 +56 x +2y+195=0

    asked by joey on February 9, 2012
  97. hs math

    what is the break up of principal and interest in a payment of 249.73 at 3.599 with a term of 72 months?

    asked by jim on July 29, 2013
  98. Math

    If the principal P = $900, the interest I = $882, and time t = 7 years. What is the rate? What is the future value?

    asked by Monica on January 29, 2012
  99. Math

    A principal earns 7% per year simple interest. How long will it take for the future value to quadruple?

    asked by Merry on November 20, 2015
  100. Calculus

    Consider the parabola r(t)=, does the principal unit normal vector point in the + or - y-direction along the curve?

    asked by Z32 on February 25, 2011