1. English Lit-Please help

    We had to read An Essay on Criticism by Alexander pope and answers some questins. I spent my weekend trying to figure out one of the questions-Could someone please help "Those Rules of old discover'd, not devis'd Are Nature still, but Nature Medthodiz'd

    asked by Jody on February 20, 2012
  2. math

    The principal of Valley Elementary School wants to divide each of the three fourth-grade classes into small same-size groups with at least 2 students in each. If the classes have 18, 24, and 36 students, respectively, what size groups are possible?

    asked by zac on December 20, 2012
  3. Math

    I am having a little trouble figuring this problem out if someone could help I would appreciate it. Question: The angle of elevation to the top f a tree sighted from ground level is 19degrees. If the observer moves 60 ft closer, the angle of elevation from

    asked by Pam on July 21, 2016
  4. ENGLISH/MATH/SCIENCE HELP!

    Is there any websites for teens to read short stories (or long), then you answer ONLY multiple choice questions, grade you, and to have a profile or something to see all of your grades if your making progress each time (to see if your improving). I want to

    asked by Laruen on March 9, 2013
  5. To heather =(

    Your post has been removed. We do not have access to any school's materials or exams. Even if we did, we certainly would NOT post the answers. You are no credit to Penn Foster! Check these sites for Penn-Foster's cheating policies.

    asked by Writeacher on January 14, 2011
  6. trigonometry

    a pilot entering a bay on course 60.3 degrees at the speed of 12 knots sees a light bearing 37.3 degrees true, and 20 mins later he sees it bearing 20 degrees true. if he keeps the same course and speed,(a)when will he be nearest to the lighthouse and how

    asked by rhinechilde on August 26, 2014
  7. math

    a pilot entering a bay on course 60.3 degrees at the speed of 12 knots sees a light bearing 37.3 degrees true, and 20 mins later he sees it bearing 20 degrees true. if he keeps the same course and speed,(a)when will he be nearest to the lighthouse and how

    asked by rhinechilde on August 27, 2014
  8. math- help needed badly

    a pilot entering a bay on course 60.3 degrees at the speed of 12 knots sees a light bearing 37.3 degrees true, and 20 mins later he sees it bearing 20 degrees true. if he keeps the same course and speed,(a)when will he be nearest to the lighthouse and how

    asked by rhinechilde on August 28, 2014
  9. trigonometry

    a pilot entering a bay on course 60.3 degrees at the speed of 12 knots sees a light bearing 37.3 degrees true, and 20 mins later he sees it bearing 20 degrees true. if he keeps the same course and speed,(a)when will he be nearest to the lighthouse and how

    asked by rhinechilde on August 27, 2014
  10. Chemistry

    Write the net ionic equation for the reaction that occurs when aqueous solutions of barium hydroxide and hydrobromic acid are combined. I know that the first part of the formula would be BaOH + HBr but I do not know what the product would be since HBr is

    asked by Hannah on October 9, 2011
  11. Health

    This type of auto-immune disease occurs when the immune system attacks the layer of insulation that surrounds the nerves and slows nerve impulses. A. asthma B. allergies C. multiple sclerosis D. rheumatoid arthritis

    asked by Sinistare Stewie on December 11, 2015
  12. Chemistry

    Write a net ionic equation for the overall reaction that occurs when aqueous solutions of potassium hydroxide and carbonic acid are combined. KOH + H2CO3 = KCO3 + H30 K^+(aq) + OH^-(aq) + h2CO3 (aq) = K^+(aq) + CO3^2+(aq) + H3O(aq) Is this correct so far?

    asked by Hannah on October 22, 2011
  13. physics

    A galvanometer best makes use of the fact that there exists a magnetic field in which of the these?. A) about aligned magnetic domains.B) wherever a change of voltage occurs.C) about a current-carrying wire.D) between the poles of a U-shaped magnet.E)

    asked by Jim on April 14, 2012
  14. phy

    Calculate the change in internal energy of 2kg of water at 90 degree Celsius when it is changed to 3.30m3 of steam at 100oC . The whole process occurs at atmospheric pressure. The latent heat of vaporization of water is 2.26×106J/kg

    asked by christ on January 24, 2013
  15. phy

    Calculate the change in internal energy of 2kg of water at 90 degree celcius when it is changed to $3.30m^{3}$ of steam at $100 ^{o}$C. The whole process occurs at atmospheric pressure. The latent heat of vaporization of water is $2.26\times10^{6}$ J/kg.

    asked by Emma on March 18, 2015
  16. physics

    is anyone aware of evidence (preferably experimental evidence) in support of time dilation. in other words proof that it actually occurs. that is, experiments other than the one of Hafele and Keating. i just need a starting point for some research.. just a

    asked by frank on January 10, 2010
  17. physics

    Calculate the change in internal energy of 2kg of water at 90 degree Celsius when it is changed to 3.30m3 of steam at 100oC . The whole process occurs at atmospheric pressure. The latent heat of vaporization of water is 2.26×106J/kg

    asked by NDuka on December 4, 2013
  18. Algebra-Please check

    1. solve sqrt (11-x) = sqrt(x-7) choices are 6,7,8 or9 I think according to my calcs the answer is (9) The range of f(x) = sqrt(3x-6) - 2 answers would be y= (-2) y> (-2) y

    asked by Erica on January 8, 2011
  19. math

    A graph is given with the line going from (-2, 2) to (2,8). a) Find the length of this line. b) Find the midpoint of the line. c) write an equation for this line. my answers- a) 2√10 b) 0,5 c) y = 1.5x + 5 please check these answers.

    asked by Anonymous on May 31, 2013
  20. psychology

    1.Once you have read about the major perspectives in psychology, identify any questions you have about these seven major theories (psychodynamic, behavioral, humanistic, cognitive, Biopsychological, Evolutionary, Sociocultural). You must come up with at

    asked by sara on August 29, 2011
  21. MATH

    I'M HAVING A PROBLEM WITH THIS PROBLEM,IT SAY'S FIND THE MISSING NUMBER HERE IS AN EXAMPLE PROBLEM, _ + 7 + -7 = -8 ,I NEED HELP WITH THAT . First: + 7 + -7 = 0 ___ + 0 = -8 Do you see what the answer is now? WHAT MISSING NUMBER GO IN THAT SPACE,I DON'T

    asked by TREVIA on July 16, 2007
  22. history

    Step 1: Choose four of the following questions to ask Moses, Jesus, and Muhammad: Why is the Holy Land an important site for your faith? What is your perspective or feelings about the other monotheistic faiths? What is the holy book of your faith, and how

    asked by Leah on September 2, 2016
  23. Math

    Find the total profit, the maximum value of the total profit, and the value of x at which it occurs when the revenue is given by R(x)=240x-x^2 and the cost is given by C(x)=5000+8x.

    asked by Pam on February 23, 2014
  24. Science 2 questions

    how and where is electricity generated in British Columbia, Canada? describe how most of the electricity is generated in England or another country. But it must be different than what occurs in B.C. Please help, thanks:)

    asked by Olly on April 9, 2013
  25. I really need help in science please anyone thanks

    Since fermentation occurs in the cytoplasm of yeast cells explain the role of mitochondria in yeast cells ? If anyone can help me this I will truly be graceful

    asked by Mike on December 13, 2012
  26. Elementary Statistics

    Compare the 95% and 99% confidence intervals for the hours of sleep a student gets. Explain the difference between these intervals and why this difference occurs.

    asked by KAOS on October 14, 2012
  27. Economics

    I know that Market Failure occurs when markets lead to inefficiency. But what are the reasons that cause Market Failure? please explain in detail.

    asked by Stosur on August 28, 2012
  28. History - HEPL ASAP

    "...ln the morning examined the men slaves and punished 6 of the principal, put 4 of them in collars." - John Newton, 29th of June, 1754 "The stench of the hold…was so intolerably loathsome that it was dangerous to remain there for any time…” -

    asked by Fish on January 14, 2018
  29. Language Arts /The Giver

    1. What is the jonas apprehensive about at the beginning of the novel? A. a plane flying over the community B. a dream that he had recently C. the upcoming ceremony and his assingment ***** 2. In Jonas's community, members are released from the community

    asked by mstv1112 on May 21, 2014
  30. Physics

    Please help me with the following problem: Joe is on a cross-country trip from New York to Los Angeles. He drives for 45.0 min at 70.0 km/h, 10.0 min at 95 km/h, and 30.0 min at 55.0 km/h, and he spends 20.0 min eating lunch and buying gas. What is the

    asked by Brady on March 5, 2014
  31. History

    Can someone help me answer these questions? Please help me... I really can't figure out these ones. 1) The Puritans came to America seeking religious freedom England. They established colonies around the church. Give one example of how they sought to

    asked by Abby on September 22, 2015
  32. Math (Algebra)

    Gretchen and Ezia received equal scores on a test made up of multiple choice questions and an essay. Gretchen got 18 multiple choice questions correct and received 19 points for her essay. Ezia got 15 multiple choice questions correct and received 31

    asked by Anonymous on October 6, 2015
  33. Algebra

    1. Nine students ask to visit a college admissions counselor. Each scheduled visit includes one student. In how many ways can they be scheduled? **They can be arranged in 45,360 different ways.** 2. Evaluate 8P2 Using the permutation formula, **The answer

    asked by |-/ on April 25, 2018
  34. 3 grade english ms sue

    fact and opinion a fact tells something that can be proved true or false. an opinion tells someones ideas or feelings.words that telll fellings, such as should or best, are clues to opinions. yu can ask an expert or use reference book to check whether a

    asked by dw on March 20, 2012
  35. Math

    Shelly compared the number of oak trees to the number of maple trees as part of a study about hardwood trees in a woodlot. She counted 9 maple trees to every 5 oak trees. Later in the year there was a bug problem and many trees died. New trees were planted

    asked by Katherine on September 19, 2013
  36. Math

    Can someone explain this problem to me, I cannot figure out how they came up with the answer. The example in my book does not work with this problem. Find the minor for the element in the 1strow and 2ndcolumn. -3 2 -1 19 13 -18 -19 12 7 correct answer is:

    asked by Sara on April 26, 2008
  37. Math

    Look at problem 4. Suppose Leila moves her books onto a bookshelf with 6 shelves. She puts an equal number of books on each shelf. Describe what the array for this problem looks like and write a multiplication sentence.

    asked by Anonymous on September 6, 2016
  38. chemistry

    I am now stumped on another problem. How many times greater is the rate of diffusion of helium gas,HE, than that of carbon dioxide gas CO{tiny 2 at bottom}, at the same temperature and pressure? please tell me how to set this problem up and tips on how to

    asked by hellogoodbie on January 11, 2010
  39. Sociology

    In What ways might homelessness be categorized as a social problem? What concerns do you have abut these policies? What group are disproportionately impacted by the social problem? Define the elements that make this solution effecte.

    asked by June on November 28, 2016
  40. physics

    A golfer hits a ball from the origin with an initial speed of 35 m/s at an angle of 44 degrees above the horizontal axis. The ball is moving down when it lands on a green that is 3.00 m above the level where it was struck. Neglect air resistance. 1. How

    asked by Amy on May 25, 2011
  41. com220

    the readings for the week listed five questions that can be used to advantage in seeking to evaliate the reliability of online sources. 1.what is the purpose and affiliation of the organization or author related to the article? 2.what are the author's

    asked by lisa on October 11, 2008
  42. English

    Posted by rfvv on Monday, November 15, 2010 at 8:41pm. 1. What are they like? -They are brave. 2. What is their presonality like? - They are brave. (Are the questions and answers right and the same?) 3. It is shaped like a fish. 4. They are shaped like

    asked by rfvv on November 15, 2010
  43. English Grammar - Function of an Infinitive

    Hello, In the following sentence identify the function of the infinitive (phrase). Is it too expensive to travel to Europe? My list of answers contains: Adverb, subject, direct object, adjective, object of preposition, and predicate noun. Apparently, both

    asked by Emily on July 24, 2015
  44. Medea Trial

    My teacher assigned my class to play out a trial of Medea vs. Jason. I was assigned to the Medea side and I am a lawyer who will try and prove it was Jason's fault that caused all the trouble (killing of Medea's two sons and, princess, and king.) My group

    asked by Joe on April 7, 2007
  45. chemistry

    if the freezing point of the solution had been incorrectly determined to be lower than the true freezing point, how would that affect the calculated molar mass? Explain. The molecular weight would be higher if the true freezing point is bigger than the

    asked by Anonymous on February 1, 2009
  46. socialstudies(CHECK ANSWERS)

    ANOTHER UPDATE FOR MY RECENT QUESTIONS I UPDATED ANSWERS....please check them 5. Mexico City was built by the A.Olmecs, when they began to grow maize. B.Maya, after they conquered the Valley of Mexico. C.Spanish, on the ruins of the Aztec capital. (I PICK

    asked by clydia on February 19, 2014
  47. Physics

    Hi everybody! can someone please help me with this problem? The shaft ACB, of constant outer diameter 2R and length 2L, is fixed to walls at both ends A and B. The left half of the shaft (AC)is solid, while the right half (CB) is hollow, with an inner

    asked by mary_ann on August 2, 2016
  48. Chemistry

    I could use some help on this question. I think the answer is choice E, but im not sure. Alcohols can function as both nucleophiles and as electrophiles in various reaction conditions. Which of the following statements is/are true. a)When R-O-H is a

    asked by Jules on April 21, 2011
  49. math

    Could someone please show me how to do these problems? or just show me how to do 1 or 2? I would really appreciate any help you could give... There are examples in my lesson but I don't understand them, here are the examples~~ EXAMPLE~ Solve 3(x – 2) + 4

    asked by Abby on September 30, 2015
  50. chemistry

    what is the entropy change that occurs when 500g of water ice melts at 0 degrees celsius and 1 atm. the heat of fusin for water ice under these conditions is 6.01 Kj/mol.

    asked by steven on March 10, 2011
  51. Chemistry

    125.0g each of two solids, lead (II) nitrate and pottassiuk iodide are dissolved in the same beaker. A reaction occurs that produces a precipitate. How many grams of precipitate are produced in the reaction?

    asked by Lowery on March 22, 2016
  52. physics

    Lightening is an atmospheric discharge of electricity accompanied by thunder, which typically occurs during thunderstorms. How much time will elapse between seeing lightening and hearing the thunder happening 8000 m from you?

    asked by Alyson on October 15, 2009
  53. calculus

    Suppose that f(x)= square root of x and g(x)= 3x-4 and you are asked to evaluvate the composite function f(g(0)). What is the complication that occurs in trying to find that composite function value? For waht values of x is it possible to evauvate f(g(x))?

    asked by Pauline on February 3, 2011
  54. chemistry

    As electrons move from the higher to the lower energy level, they release energy and ________ occurs. excitation ground state emission quantum state

    asked by help me please on October 5, 2015
  55. Math Personal Finance

    Assume we invest $2000 for one year in a savings account that pays an APR (Annual Percentage Rate) of 10% compounded quarterly. The compound interest formula is: Balance after t periods = Principal × (1 + r)t The final balance using the compound interest

    asked by Alexis on June 8, 2014
  56. English please check my answer

    Please check my answer thank you. Gastrectomy is listed as the principal procedure on the surgical report. You know that (-ectomy) means excision or surgical removal. What part of the medical word does "ectomy " represent ? A. Root B. Suffix C. Prefix D.

    asked by Dakotah on March 19, 2008
  57. math

    2. Maryam pays $3000 on the 30th day of a $7,000, 120-day, and 8% loan. a. What is the adjusted principal after the partial payment is made if ordinary interest is applied? (5 points) Answer: b. What is the adjusted balance due at maturity? (5 points)

    asked by Anonymous on August 20, 2011
  58. Biology

    Genetic engineering is the manipulation of genes using cloning and transformation to change the gene structure. Genetic engineering has many positive outcomes. For example, A) gene therapy might cure one defect while creating another. B) genetic

    asked by Rafa on June 19, 2015
  59. Physics- 2D Collisions

    nitially, mass one (2.10 kg) has a velocity of 5.90 m/s and mass two (2.80 kg) is at rest. After they collide, mass one emerges at an angle theta = 33.0 degrees. What is the speed of mass one after the collision if the collision is completely elastic?

    asked by Rob on March 29, 2011
  60. REPOST: Teen Suicide

    Posted by Wenmar on Thursday, October 25, 2007 at 9:40pm. I have to do a term paper on Teen Suicide. Here is our format: I. Title Page II. Table of Contents III. History of Problem IV. Who's affected V. Signs of Problem VI. Agency VII. Treatment VIII.

    asked by Wenmar on October 25, 2007
  61. History

    Plz Check My Answers 1. Which group most benefited from new settlement in South Texas during the 1840s and 1850s? A. Anglos B. Tejano patrons C. Enslaves African Americans D. German immigrants *(My answer is A)* 2. What was the U.S. Army's solution to the

    asked by 🥞🥛💖 on November 26, 2018
  62. Statistics

    A multiple choice test has five choices. Therefore the probability of getting the correct answer by guessing is 0.2. The test has six questions. Use the binomial formula with n = 6 and p = 0.2 to (a) Determine probability of getting two questions correct.

    asked by Sue on March 3, 2013
  63. AP Chemistry

    2 Al + 3 Cu(NO3)2 --> 2 Al(NO3)3 + 3 Cu 1. Write balanced equations for the oxidation and reduction half-reactions. Identify each half-reaction as oxidation or reduction. 2. In the balanced overall reaction, determine which is the oxidation and reduction

    asked by Neha on June 24, 2011
  64. childcare

    1.Temperatures in child care education settings should be set at in summer and in winter. A. 55 to 65, 65 to 85 B. 60 to 63, 70 60 73 C. 68 to 72, 65 to 75 D. 72 to 80, 70 to 78 My answer is C. 2. Which of the following is an obsticle to learning for a

    asked by action on August 22, 2010
  65. Geography (Ms. Sue)

    1). Where are most of the high-land climate zones located? 2). What vegetation characterizes the Amazon River basin? 3). What types of climate zones are found in Latin America? My answers to these questions are the following: 1). Most of the highland

    asked by Anonymous on September 19, 2013
  66. English

    3. I didn't see the movie Star Wars. - Me neither. - I saw the movie. It was great. - Really? Everyone in my clas saw the movie. You have to see it. It's great. - You don't need to see the movie. It's not so good. - I saw the movie with my family last

    asked by rfvv on November 26, 2015
  67. humanities...NEED BY TONIGHT!PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    what is some things about ancient egyptian art and culture THNX :) I went to Google and searched for ancient egypt art culture and here are the results:

    asked by vahnna on March 27, 2007
  68. Physics

    This is about the questions again -- can you tell me if I worded this right and you can figure out the answer to the question with the info provided? Thanks!! A bullet is speeding at 250 m/s and it punctures an apple at rest. With the bullet inside the

    asked by Emily on April 15, 2008
  69. Chemistry

    Which of the following species is the strongest oxidizing agent under standard state conditions? a. Ag+(aq) b. H2(g) c. H+(aq) d. Cl2(g) e. Al3+(aq) I think Ag+(aq) will transfer electons sooner than the other four choices. BECAUSE: H2 will hold on it its

    asked by Jason on March 10, 2009
  70. Criminology

    According to proponents of capital punishment, which of the following is a true statement? A. Capital punishment deters crime. B. Capital punishment is less expensive than imprisonment. C. Capital punishment is widely accepted in the international

    asked by Pat on December 13, 2014
  71. Math

    Weight(lb): 4,5,46 Total Cost($): 17.40,21.75,200.10 a.proportional? _________ b.equation? _______ c.weight: __________ d. total cost: ________ My answers: a. Yes b. Y=4.35x c. don't have one d. don't have one I am no sure how to find the answers for c and

    asked by Need the help on October 30, 2017
  72. calculus

    3. Given the function defined by y = x + sinx for all x such that -π/2

    asked by Yoona on December 18, 2011
  73. Pre-Calc

    Hi, Find the exact value of the following expression: Sin^-1(1/radical2) (Its inverse sin(1/radical2) Direction -(Type your answers in interval notation. Type an exact answer using pi as need) Please show how you got the answers so I can use this as a

    asked by Chizoba on August 10, 2016
  74. math

    A math contest consists of ten problems.Three points are given for each correct answer. One point is deducted for each incorrect answer. Andy answers all the problems and scores 18 points. How many correct answers does he have?

    asked by matt on April 9, 2013
  75. Physics

    A hockey puck slides along the ice. There is a frictional force between the ice and puck, and this is the only horizontal force on the puck. Which of the following must be true? A. The puck will slow down and eventually come to rest. B. The puck will

    asked by Anonymous on December 8, 2011
  76. English

    1. You should wear a swimming cap in the swimming pool. 2. You should wear a swimming cap at the swimming pool. (Which preposition should we use? Are both OK?) 3. What is your number? - My number is 22. 4. May I have your number? - My number is 22. 5. What

    asked by rfvv on April 4, 2012
  77. spanish

    Your grandparents are arriving in a few hours, and your mother has a lot of questions. Answer her questions using direct-object pronouns. Y tú, ¿estás preparando las empanadas? Your response: Si, los estás empanadas ¿Están tu papá y tu hermano

    asked by What am i doing wrong on November 1, 2010
  78. statistics

    For this discussion you will need to come up with twenty different data points and enter them into the first column in Excel. The data points can be any numbers you want as long as there are twenty of them. You will then use the descriptive statistics

    asked by yolanda on March 8, 2012
  79. solving Equations

    Solve x square pluse 5x subtracting by 6 equals zero? X^2 + 5x - 6 = 0 Solve by factoring. 3 and 2 will do it. heres the right answer.... (x-1)(x+6)=0 x=1 x=-6 Let's see if that is the right answer. The first number is the product of the first two numbers;

    asked by shanna on October 17, 2006
  80. Physics

    A trap door, of length and width 1.65 m, is held open at an angle of 65.0 degrees with respect to the floor. A rope is attached to the raised edge of the door and fastened to the wall behind the door in such a position that the rope pulls perpendicularly

    asked by Julia on April 27, 2011
  81. chemistry

    I have a problem that states: Find the pressure of a sample of carbon tetrachloride, CCl4 if 1.00 mol occupies 35.0L at 77.0 degress C (slightly above its normal boiling point). Assume that CCl4 obeys (a) the ideal gas law; (b) the van der Waals equation.

    asked by Alicia on December 30, 2007
  82. college psychology

    What targets the stressor itself whereas what deals with the emotional or psychological impact of the stressor? -Emotion-focused coping; proactive coping - Problem focused coping; proactive coping - problem-focused coping; emotion focused coping - emotion

    asked by Michele on November 19, 2008
  83. Statistics

    a random sample of 10 minature tootsie rolls was taken from a bag. Each piece was weighed on a very accurate scale. The results in grams were 3.087, 3.131,3.241,3.270,3.353,3.400,3.411,3.437,3.477 a.) construct a 90 percent confidence intervalfor the true

    asked by BabyGirl on August 7, 2010
  84. WORD PROBLEM

    GOING SKIING. LEON DROVE 270 MILES TO THE LODGE IN THE SAME TIME AS PAT DROVE 330 MILES TO THE LODGE. IF PAT DROVE 10 MILES PER HOUR FASTER THAN LEON, THEN HOW FAST DID EACH OF THEM DRIVE? I REALLY NEED HELP ON THIS ONE. PLEASE! IF YOU CAN SHOW THE WORK

    asked by leleirvin on August 12, 2005
  85. English

    Identify the sentence that is correctly punctuated. A. Clara did not study very much for her biology test, therefore, she guessed at many of the answers. B. Clara did not study very much for her biology test; therefore she guessed at many of the answers.

    asked by Angela on May 5, 2014
  86. English

    Identify the sentence that is correctly punctuated. A. Clara did not study very much for her biology test, therefore, she guessed at many of the answers. B. Clara did not study very much for her biology test; therefore she guessed at many of the answers.

    asked by Angela on May 5, 2014
  87. English

    Identify the sentence that is correctly punctuated. A. Clara did not study very much for her biology test, therefore, she guessed at many of the answers. B. Clara did not study very much for her biology test; therefore she guessed at many of the answers.

    asked by Susan on May 6, 2014
  88. algbrea

    Francine and Cheryl received equal scores on a test made up of multiple choice questions and an essay. Francine got 34 multiple choice questions correct and received 14 points for her essay. Cheryl got 30 multiple choice questions correct and received 22

    asked by jace on September 29, 2014
  89. math

    Francine and Cheryl received equal scores on a test made up of multiple choice questions and an essay. Francine got 34 multiple choice questions correct and received 14 points for her essay. Cheryl got 30 multiple choice questions correct and received 22

    asked by bre on December 7, 2015
  90. math

    Louann and Carla received equal scores on a test made up of multiple choice questions and an essay. Louann got 14 multiple choice questions correct and received 24 points for her essay. Carla got 16 multiple choice questions correct and received 14 points

    asked by jessica on October 8, 2015
  91. lattice math

    Why should we estimate before solving a problem? We should estimate before solving a problem to make sure our answer is close to the real answer. Here's a simple problem. Suppose we want to find wnat a 6% tax on a $10 purchase would be. When you do the

    asked by marc on October 3, 2006
  92. Chemistry :)

    Cr2O3 + 3CCl4 ---> 2CrCl3 + 3CCl2O In one experiment, 6.37 grams of Cr2O3 was treated wiht excess CCl4 and yielded 8.75 grams of CrCl3. What was the percent yeild? I have no idea how to do this. I know that percent yield is actual/theorectical yield *100.

    asked by Miley on February 6, 2008
  93. Algebra

    Stella is recording temperatures every day for 5 days. On the first day, Stella recorded a temperature of 0 degrees Farenheit. A. On the second day, the temperature was 3 degrees Fahrenheit above the temperature on the first day. What was the temperature

    asked by Ms. Stephie on September 18, 2014
  94. English

    Which sentence is in the passive voice? Bill Moyers asks the questions in a calm, assertive manner. Rita Dove was interviewed several times in 1996. He treats each guest as courteously as he can. He must give a lecture in the next twenty minutes. Would

    asked by Caitlyn on December 12, 2018
  95. statistics

    in a classic study of problem solving, katona demonstrated that people whoa re required to figure out a problem on their own will learn more than people who are given the solution. One group of participants is presented with a series of problems that hey

    asked by Lezlie on June 11, 2008
  96. English

    1) My sister is going to spend three weeks, from 4 August to 24 August in the USA. 2)In particular, they will be visiting Disneyworld first, then they'll be flying to Yellowstone Park and finally they will round off (?) their journey with a three-day stay

    asked by Henry2 on July 15, 2011
  97. Calulus

    Hi there I need help on my calculus homework and this week, we were working on partial derivative. I don't know how to approach this word problem and set it into a maximum or minimum. Well I am not too sure if this problem is a minimum or maximum problem.

    asked by shylo on October 25, 2009
  98. macroeconomics

    1) Suppoer the economy is operating at full employment and foreign countries raise the world price of oil. Assuming policy-makers do not take any actions,describe what will happen to price and output in the short run and long run. 2) Suppose the Federal

    asked by chipmunk on March 25, 2009
  99. Statistics

    According to a study by the Centers for Disease Control, the national mean hospital stay after childbirth is 2.1 days. Reviewing records at her own hospital, a hospital administrator calculates that the mean hospital stay for a random sample of 81 women

    asked by Katie on November 10, 2013
  100. geometry

    Rafael wrote the statements shown in the chart. Statement 1 Description If a point lies outside a line, then exactly one plane contains both the line and the point. Statement 2 Description If two points lie in a plane, then the line joining them lies in

    asked by Anonymous on September 22, 2011