language

How can you tell a valid opinion from a bias opinion? I realize when they are obviously slanted, but what makes an opinion valid?

  1. 👍 0
  2. 👎 0
  3. 👁 36
asked by Zoe
  1. An opinion is generally biased, but it could also be valid. For instance, in my opinion, a certain candidate would make the best president. I could cite you facts and statistics to back my opinion. Your opinion about a different candidate is equally valid because it's your opinion. But, there's no way of knowing now or in the future who -- of the 8 or so leading presidential candidates -- would do the best job.

    I also have opinions about religion, ethics, and fashions. They are valid for me -- but they may not be valid for you. Our opinions are based on our personal experiences. Your experiences are different than mine.

    When you read or listen to another's opinion, ask yourself if your experiences are the same or different from theirs.

    1. 👍 0
    2. 👎 0
    posted by Ms. Sue

Respond to this Question

First Name

Your Response

Similar Questions

  1. Character Education

    What is the purpose of critically analyzing opinions? A. To reject anything that does not agree with your opinion. B. To adopt any experts opinion as valid for you C. To compare the opinion to the framework of your values I think

    asked by Jae on April 18, 2018
  2. Government US

    A written Supreme Court opinion that, in the absence of a majority opinion, represents the reasoning of most of the justices who side with the winning party is a a. plurality opinion. b. concurring opinion. c. leading opinion. d.

    asked by HM on September 18, 2011
  3. english

    I am trying to unserstand the difference in bias and opinion. Is there a difference? http://www.answers.com/topic/bias Read definition 2a. http://www.answers.com/topic/opinion Basically, all people have opinions, by which they

    asked by jennifer on July 7, 2006
  4. character education

    What is the purpose of critically analyzing opinions? to reject anything that does not agree with your opinion to adopt any experts opinion is valid for you to compare the opinion to the framework of your values B facts : ______

    asked by Bri on November 8, 2017
  5. English

    Can you please give me your opinion on the poem Amulet by Ted Hughes. i have to write a literary analysis on this poem but i have to include the opinion of at least three other people and compare how my opinion differs with their

    asked by <<<HELP>>> on November 23, 2007
  6. fact/opinion #2

    Please check: 1) Kids who like to get muddy should visit Michigan. [opinion] 2) It must be a sloppy mess [opinion] 3) That's a lot of mud [opinion?]

    asked by Celest on April 23, 2013
  7. com156

    How might you determine what is fact and what is opinion? Does the opinion of an expert in the field carry more weight than the opinion of someone that is not? Explain why or why not

    asked by Anonymous on October 30, 2010
  8. History

    When Supreme Court justice agrees with the decision reached by the court in case, but not with the reason why the court made that decision, he or she may choose to write a? A:concurring opinion*** B:dissenting opinion C:majority

    asked by Anonymous on January 10, 2018
  9. islamic studies

    In matters of fiqh, if one is faced between 2 choices: a. a stronger opinion based on Quran & Sunnah but if it turns out in reality to be wrong, one might commit a sin or make certain ibadah invalid,etc b. a weaker opinion but a

    asked by alif on March 3, 2015
  10. English

    How has the role of women changed in the past one hundred years? In your opinion, who has the greater task to teach responsibility, good morals, and character in young children: the father or mother? In your opinion, and with your

    asked by Nerd1234 on January 10, 2016

More Similar Questions