Grade 12 Physics

This question came up on my review package tonight, and it has me stumped.

"A box of mass 14.5kg slides at a constant speed of 4.70m/s down a ramp at 35.3 degrees below the horizontal. What is the force of friction on the box?"

I can calcuate force of friction on accelerating objects, but one moving at a constant speed has me puzzled. Also, my FBD Fgx and Fgy components look a little suspicious. I got:
Fgy=142.1 N
Fgx=79.6 N

Can anyone help clear this up for me?
Thanks so much.

  1. 👍 0
  2. 👎 0
  3. 👁 64
  1. If there is no acceleration, the component of weight down the ramp, M g sin 35.3, equals the friction force.

    The speed does not matter in the calculation.

    I do't see how you got your Fgy and Fgx umbers.

    1. 👍 0
    2. 👎 0
    posted by drwls
  2. Yeah, me either. *sigh* Thanks very much.

    1. 👍 0
    2. 👎 0
  3. yeah

    1. 👍 0
    2. 👎 0

Respond to this Question

First Name

Your Response

Similar Questions

  1. Math for Ms. Sue

    I'm Claire's grandma; a retired teacher of science and supplemental in math. I am stumped on her question about pizza tonight. I'm working via phone with her. Would you mind taking a look at it. I know the answer, but not sure how

    asked by Claire on September 21, 2016
  2. Physics

    At the beginning of a new school term, a student moves a box of books by attaching a rope to the box and pulling with a force of 92 N at an angle of 30 as shown in the figure below. The box of books has a mass of 22.0 kg, and the

    asked by B on November 5, 2012
  3. geometry

    A manufacturer wants to package samples of a product in a box with a square base. the package is to have a volume of 100 cubic centimeters. what is the func that will describe the surface area of the box S(x) in ters of the length

    asked by luckybee on June 29, 2012
  4. Algebra

    Mr. Scrooge bought 4 packages of ground beef. The second package weighed three times as much as the first, and the third package weighed half as much as the second. The fourth package weighed fifteen ounces, which was three ounces

    asked by Help on December 12, 2012
  5. intro to computer programming

    I need help with my Java homework! Write a program that calculates a customer's monthly bill. It should ask the user via dialog box to enter the letter of the package the customer has purchased (A, B, or C) and the number of hours

    asked by sallie on November 3, 2015
  6. Physics

    I have a question that I don't understand, could you please help me? Thanks! Heres my question: A package falls off a truck that is moving at 30 m/s. Neglecting air resistance, the horizontal speed of the package just before it

    asked by Soly on August 19, 2007
  7. Math

    Whats the solution of 2(h−8)−h=h−16? This has me stumped, can you also explain how to do this problem, so i can use that if i get stumped on another question?

    asked by Clorox on September 20, 2018
  8. Calculus

    I'm reviewing for a test tomorrow and two of the questions on the review had me a little stumped. Lim Sq. Rt.(x+5) - Sq. Rt (5) all divided by X-->0 X I was able to rationalize and ended up with (X)/ x ((sq. rt.(x+5))+ sq. rt.(5))

    asked by Danya on September 12, 2013
  9. math word problems

    Package A weighs half as much as Package B. Package B weighs four times as much as Package C. The total weight of Package A and Package C is 648 grams. Find the weight of Package B.

    asked by Jiskha on March 23, 2014
  10. Calculus - Optimization

    The post office ships a package using large package rates if the sum of the length of the longest side and the girth (distance around the package perpendicular to its length) is greater than 84in and less than or equal to 108in.

    asked by Danny on November 14, 2016

More Similar Questions