L.A.

What can you predict about the poem by previewing the title, subtitle, and first line of the poem “In Response to Executive Order 9066”?


It will be a letter to the Japanese-American citizens in which they are told they must leave their homes.

It will be a letter to the people who sent the order for Japanese-American internment.

It will be a letter to the speaker’s friends who she must leave behind.

It will be a letter to the speaker’s Japanese-American parents.

B

Why might the speaker in "In Response to Executive Order 9066" have chosen tomato seeds as a gift?

The tomato seeds symbolize where the speaker is going, which will serve as a reminder to Denise to visit her.

The speaker selected tomato seeds because the color red is a symbol of her anger towards Denise.

Denise's hostility could end their friendship, but the speaker responds with a symbol of new beginnings.

The speaker's favorite food is tomatoes, so the seeds represent the happiness she feels for moving away from Denise.

C

  1. 👍 0
  2. 👎 0
  3. 👁 134
  1. Both are right.

Respond to this Question

First Name

Your Response

Similar Questions

  1. lang arts

    1. What can you predict about the poem by previewing the title, subtitle, and first line of the poem “In Response to Executive Order 9066”? It will be a letter to the Japanese-American citizens in which they are told they must

    asked by Anonymous on January 17, 2013
  2. Language Arts ~CHECK MY WORK PLEASE~

    1. What can you predict about the poem by previewing the title, subtitle, and first line of the poem "In response to executive order 9066"? a.) It will be a letter to the Japanese-American citizens in which they are told they must

    asked by Jenny on February 5, 2014
  3. English Plz Help

    1. What can you predict about the poem by previewing the title, subtitle, and first line of the poem “In Response to Executive Order 9066”? A. It will be a letter to the Japanese-American citizens in which they are told they

    asked by SAMHAM on February 1, 2013
  4. Englsih II

    Review the poems we have studied in this unit and select the one that appealed to you most. Analyze the poem by answering the following questions. Cite specific lines or phrases from the poem to support your ideas. Be certain to

    asked by Carlos on March 18, 2013
  5. English- I need the title

    I have a poem : "When the dark Of a Spring Interrupts, There is one Who will serve". I tried to type the poem in google to find the title but it came up no matches. Could someone please tell me the title of this poem or at least

    asked by Christian on December 20, 2007
  6. poetry

    Poem. DayBreak Q.1 Who does the wind address to? Q2. "The night is gone,"What does the. world 'night' refer to ? Q3. What does the poem describe? Q4. "Not yet! In quiet-lie".What is the meaning of this line? Q5. What does the

    asked by akash on May 27, 2014
  7. Poetry

    Without knowing the context of of the poem, does this poem title stand out to you, get your attention, and sound good? He Makes Our Joy Full also. do you normally capitalize all words in a poems title or is that just for books?

    asked by hannah on February 4, 2012
  8. English-Happiness

    I'm doing a short poem on Happiness. I'm going to work on it after, but I just need a good title for it. Here is an example of a type of poem I'm trying to do: Title: Happiness is a Butterfly Happiness is like a butterfly which,

    asked by Sara on April 28, 2010
  9. Language

    which statement describes the translation form of a haiku poem? A. A three line poem with seven syllables in the first and third lines and five syllables in the middle line.•• B. A nine line poem with five syllable in odd

    asked by Vanessa on February 1, 2016
  10. Literature

    Do you think the title "Huswifery" is a good title for Edward Taylor's poem? Why? Linda, if you will tell us what you think about this title, we will be happy to give you suggestions. We don't do your homework for you. hopkin's

    asked by Linda on January 21, 2007

More Similar Questions