February 22, 2017

Homework Help: child development (answer included)

Posted by scooby on Friday, November 13, 2009 at 10:09pm.

• Write a 200- to 300-word response that identifies and explains distinguishing characteristics of each of the five developmental periods

how does this sound

The five developmental periods

The five developmental periods are the following, infancy, early childhood, middle childhood, early adolescence, and finally late adolescence. The five developmental periods are important factors in the growth of a child. In the category of infancy it includes the age from birth up until two years old. During the infancy time period the child develops nonverbal communication, language expression, and the learning things, people, and places. In the category of early childhood it includes children from two years old to six years old. According to McDevitt & Ormrod, 2004 early childhood is a period of fantasy, play, wonder, and creativity. the third category middle childhood is when the child is 6 years old to 10 years old. During this time the child focuses more on the real world issues and focuses less on fantasy. McDevitt and Ormrod say “children also begin to compare their performances to others.” The fourth category is called early adolescence. In this category the child is from ten years old to fourteen years old. During this time the child is focused on what other peers think of them. During this time they may also start physical changes such as puberty. The last phase is called the late adolescent. During this time the child is from fourteen years old to eighteen years old. During this time the child is making decisions. Children at this also consider being in relationship a high priority.

Answer This Question

First Name:
School Subject:

Related Questions

More Related Questions